Summer Projects

April 20, 2012 § 1 Comment

I’ve got about two weeks left in my semester. It’s hard to believe I’ve almost got one year of a doctorate program under my belt! Since I’ll only be taking one class this summer, I’ve been looking for projects. Of course, I’ll work on my annual “year books,” photo books I make on Blurb.com to remember the year. But I’ve also seen some great projects on Pinterest that I’m going to try out.

One of my projects are wood block photographs. You can see the tutorial I’ll be using here. I think they look cool. Plus, they’re cheaper than buying frames and prints.

My second project is silhouette string art of states.They’ve been on Etsy and Pinterest a lot recently, but I figured it would be fun to try and make one myself. I found instructions here. I’m hoping to make three: MN, CA & UT. We’ll see if I make it! I’ll definitely post them on this blog if they work out.

I figure since I spend so much of my year now doing more brain-only projects (writing, reading, etc.), and not any hands-on projects (though I did sew a little bag for a friend’s birthday in March, which was wonderful, even though it took longer than normal since I’m a bit rusty), it will be good to do some manual labor. It helps keep everything in balance.

§ One Response to Summer Projects

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Summer Projects at mcfarlane's musings.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.