Gluten Free is the Life for Me

December 30, 2011 § 3 Comments

Many of my friends and family still might not know I’ve had to start eating gluten-free recently. On October 24, I decided to try it out and see if a gluten-free diet might, indeed, reveal I have a gluten intolerance. The results: I am feeling better, but now I have a whole wonderful world of food that is “off limits.” I’ve vacillated between thinking, “Hey, this isn’t so bad! It makes me eat more salads, if nothing else!” and “Ok, how is it fair that I have to pay twice as much or more for food my body can handle? And why can’t they just invent a pill that will allow me to eat all the bread, cookies and brownies I want?” However, I’ve got a great friend who can’t eat gluten, either, and has helped guide me through this new diet. I’ve also been given great suggestions by my mom who has talked with one of her friends who’s daughter was recently diagnosed with celiac disease. With that said, here are some of my favorite treats I’ve discovered so far:

LÄRABAR Chocolate Chip Brownie bars
These are great. I would eat them even if I didn’t have to eat gluten free. However, to be honest, I cannot say this about all their flavors.

KIND bars
I don’t like all their flavors, but most of them are pretty delicious. The downside is that they are much more expensive than other granola bars. The upside is they’ve got a great company mission.

Kinnikinnick Vanilla Glazed Donuts
I am a donut-lover. I don’t eat them often, but I do enjoy a great donut every now and then. These are fabulous. You can’t even tell they are gluten-free. Yum, yum, yum!

Flourless chocolate cake
I actually am a much bigger fan of brownies than cake, so a flourless cake that tastes like brownies and is gluten free? Yes, please!

Chocolate.
Thankfully, most candy and candy bars are gluten-free. Halloween was still fabulous this year. :)

Trader Joe’s Soft-Baked Snickerdoodles
(and other items on their vast list of affordable gluten free options)
These are free of the 8 common allergens (including gluten, wheat, soy, dairy, milk, peanuts, tree nuts, eggs), and they are delicious! Now if only a Trader Joe’s would come to SLC so I wouldn’t have to wait for a visit to CA to stock up…

Chex gluten free cereals
I absolutely love cereal, so when I thought going gluten free meant no cereal in the morning, I was pretty frustrated. Then I discovered Chex Honey Nut cereal and Cinnamon Chex. They are SO GOOD!

§ 3 Responses to Gluten Free is the Life for Me

  • Kyle Jensen says:

    You too? I gave up gluten for a month or so (as part of a paleo diet) and then I ate a little gluten (mainly I had a sandwich from Ebert and Gerbert’s and pizza anoth day) and both times I felt like I ate a brick. I honestly can’t believe how much better I feel not eating it… Although I do miss it now and again. http://nomnompaleo.com/recipeindex has some pretty good recipes (desserts, etc are at the end of the list) (they are Paleo so mostly dairy/and completely gluten(and other grain)/soy free).

  • Mary Ellen says:

    I have a “subscription” to KIND bars!! Seriously, I get a box of the mini mixed flavor 1x/month. LOVE them… they’re really good for travel when you don’t want to spend $4 on an apple at the airport kiosk only to find it’s icky!!
    Love the blog, Meg!!

  • Daniel Or says:

    if you have questions, Ashley had to do it for a while and help her mom with her diet due to health reasons that she had to go gluten free. i congrat you cuz its tough. I like tasty food.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Gluten Free is the Life for Me at mcfarlane's musings.

meta