Year One Done!

May 1, 2012 § 5 Comments

This afternoon I officially turned in my last paper of the semester. Woop! To be honest, I’m kind of lost right now, because I don’t know what to do with myself. I’m so used to the feeling that there is always something to be done. This semester, I read more than I’ve ever read, and I wrote more than I’ve ever written, and I was actually proud of most of it. Practice does make us better, and it has been fun to see my thinking and writing continue to improve over the semester. When I add it all up, here’s what the numbers say:

Total weeks in the semester: 16
Total books read:  23 (well, five of them I did not read completely)
Total articles read: 40+
Total pages written: 175
Total papers written (short & long): 22

However, I did not accomplish my goal of reading one fiction, non-school book this semester. I think I need to pick a super short book that is easy to read, and just read a page a night throughout the semester.

I’ll be taking one class this summer and working 10 hours a week in Facilities Management through June. I’m hoping to work on a few papers, and definitely read a fiction book. Seriously. I’m going to do it this time :)

To celebrate our first year under our belts, some of the 2011-2012 cohort members had a BBQ on the rooftop of a few of my classmates’ apartment. It was a beautiful night out, as the sun was setting behind the capitol. It was crazy to think that about nine months ago, most of us were meeting for the first time. Year one: done!

§ 5 Responses to Year One Done!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Year One Done! at mcfarlane's musings.

meta