Summer Project #1

May 5, 2012 § 3 Comments

Today I decided to try one of summer projects. I only bought enough supplies to make a string silhouette of Utah, just in case it ended up in disaster. Like I said in my other post, my goal is to make California and Minnesota, as well (with the places we lived marked by a circle). The project was pretty fun. I was dreading putting on the string on at the end, but it was actually one of the easier parts. The most difficult step was hammering in the nails, because I had bought small nails that were hard to hold while also trying to hammer them in without hitting my fingers. I used an orange/red for Utah, because of the red rock, and will probably try a mustard/muted yellow for California and a muted blue for Minnesota. However, I’ve got to wait until I get more coupons so I can purchase the other two wood plaques…

Here are some pictures of my project today, step-by-step. I’m really happy with the result, and Steve said he likes it, which is a huge compliment :)

§ 3 Responses to Summer Project #1

  • Diane says:

    This is amazing!! I just love it! Can’t wait to see MN & CA!!

  • Mary Ellen says:

    Ok, it’s May 5th and you already have a Summer Project done!!!! You’re going to have a sincerely productive summer!! Looks awesome!

    • Ha ha! Thanks! I’m in between semesters (summer semester starts on the 14th), so I thought I’d take advantage of this weekend. Hoping it will be a productive summer, as I thrive on productivity :)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Summer Project #1 at mcfarlane's musings.

meta