Published!

July 29, 2013 § 2 Comments

I’ve been hinting in the past couple posts about some exciting news I have, and I can finally share it: I have co-authored a book! I did not want to write about it until I had a copy of the book in my hands, ensuring that I was not imagining things and that my hard work was not in vain. Although I do not yet have a copy in my hands, it is listed on Amazon.com, which makes it feel quite official. Click here to check out the listing.

book-cover

The bin Laden raid occurred the spring before I started the doctorate program at the University of Utah. I was quite interested in it (as were many Americans and people around the world), and it became the focus of much of my scholarship. Last fall, as school was starting, my advisor, Marouf Hasian, asked me if I’d be interested in co-authoring a book with him about the different stories emerging about the bin Laden raid. Specifically, the book, No Easy Day, had just come out, and it was yet another story about the raid, this time from a SEAL’s perspective. Initially, I declined his offer, since I was pregnant, trying to take classes, teach, and just a little overwhelmed. However, the more I thought about it, the more I realized what an amazing opportunity it would be, so I agreed.

We worked hard the fall semester, and submitted it to Peter Lang Publishing, who picked it up. I couldn’t believe it was happening (I don’t think I still believe it. I need my copy to arrive so I can hold it in my hands). The goal was to work quickly and have the book ready to go to the press before I had my baby. Unfortunately, the timeline was stretched a bit, so a couple weeks after Evelyn was born, I was still working on the book, but we were able to get it all sent off by the end of March, and now it’s on the market!

The book is aimed at more academic audiences, and discusses the multiple stories of American exceptionalism that emerged after the bin Laden raid. We discuss the perspectives of the SEALs, the Obama administration, the Romney campaign, Zero Dark Thirty, and bin Laden’s family. I wrote two and a half of the seven chapters, and helped with much of the editing, proofing and organizing of the rest of the chapters.

It was a great experience to learn about the book publishing process. I cannot thank Marouf Hasian enough for taking me on in this project. Hopefully this is just the beginning of many more exciting things to come!

§ 2 Responses to Published!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Published! at mcfarlane's musings.

meta